LLIR Board

The LLIR Board for 2018 – 2019

Please say hello to our board members when you are attending a class – they will be happy to meet you and answer any questions that you may have.

Gary Schlee (President) 

Betty Ball
Ruth Brouwer (Associate Program)
Carol Brown (Secretary)
Barbara Buchanan (Volunteers)
Bob Clapp (Past President)
Sheryl Danilowitz
Molly Greenwood (Registrar)
George Hill (Finance)
Diane Johns (Communications)
Stuart Livingston (Registration Review)
Brian McLean (Assoc. Registrar)
Del Milbrandt (Program)
Paul Muther (Treasurer, Membership)
Christine Pearce (Vice-President)
Linda Somers (Friends of Glendon, Third Age Network))
Brian Thompson (Facilities)

LLIR Board Committees

The work of fulfilling the LLIR mandate happens at the committee level, as follows:

Communications Committee is responsible for all aspects of general communication with members and prospective members and for the publicity for the organization. Members include: Diane Johns, Chair, Betty Ball, Barbara Buchanan, Bill Johns (AV), Brian MacLean, Paula McMillan.

Program Committee is responsible for choosing the subjects of each year’s program, as well as developing and administering LLIR academic programs. Members include: Del Milbrandt, Chair, Ruth Brouwer, Associate Chair, Sheryl Danilowitz, Naomi St John, Mike Antoniades, Berit Dellerud, Jim Boyle, Jos Lennards.

Facilities Committee arranges for accommodation at Glendon, including rooms and catering. Members include Brian Thompson and Barbara Buchanan.

Finance Committee is responsible for the management of LLIR’s monies. Members include George Hill, Chair and Paul Muther, Treasurer.

Friends of Glendon Committee is responsible for raising money to donate to the Friends of Glendon fund for needy students. The committee chair is a Director of the Friends of Glendon Board. Linda Somers is the Chair.

Long Range Planning Committee considers and makes recommendations to the Board regarding the policies and procedures pertaining to the future operations of LLIR. The current chair is Bob Clapp and the committee usually has 3 to 6 members.

Membership Committee develops and monitors (in Coordination with the Registrar) policies, rules and procedures dealing with all aspects of membership in LLIR. In addition, the Committee is responsible for the New Members Reception. Chair: Paul Muther.

Nominating Committee is responsible for recommending to the Board a list of suitable candidates for appointment to the Board. The current chair is Bob Clapp and the committee has from 2 to 4 members.

Registration Committee is responsible for managing LLIR’s membership and for the registration for courses. This includes the technology to support the process. Responsible for providing key outputs of the database to various directors, i.e. Communications director extract, Finance Director extract, FOG Director extract, Course Chairs class and volunteers lists. Members include Molly Greenwood, Registrar and Brian McLean, Associate Registrar.

Volunteers Committee is responsible for soliciting volunteers for the classroom assistants as well as for openings on the Board Committees. Members include Barbara Buchanan, Chair and Betty Ball.